Omnitracs alternatives compared
Motive is the strongest Omnitracs alternative for most carriers, because it covers tracking, cameras and hours-of-service logging in one platform and publishes its renewal terms, where Omnitracs publishes neither a price nor a customer agreement. Buyers searching for Omnitracs alternatives are usually reacting to that opacity or to a retired product line.
Omnitracs has never had a pricing page on its own site, and four independent review platforms each record the vendor declining to supply a figure, checked 30 September 2026. Its website terms of use state that purchase and use terms sit in a separate, non-public contract.
Samsara, Motive and Geotab all publish nothing on price either, but each publishes something about what you are agreeing to.
Rajat Gupta runs FleetOpsClub and writes its software reviews, comparisons and pricing pages. Every tool on the site is assessed against the vendor's own published documentation and pricing, and each pricing figure carries the date it was last verified so readers can judge how current it is. Where a vendor does not publish a price, the page says so rather than estimating one.
Last reviewed Aug 16, 2026Why buyers look for Omnitracs alternatives
The first reason carriers leave is that nothing is disclosed. Omnitracs publishes no price, has never had a pricing page, and publishes no customer agreement: its website terms of use state that terms for the purchase or use of its products sit in a separate contract, and that contract is not public. Contract length, renewal, early-termination fees and hardware ownership all arrive inside a quote.
Best Omnitracs alternative
Motive is the best Omnitracs alternative for most carriers, covering tracking, AI cameras and hours-of-service logging in one platform with renewal stated as 12 months on 30 days' notice. Samsara matches it on scope with broader asset coverage. Geotab includes hardware with no upfront device or installation fee.
Motive
Mid-market and large carriers that want tracking, video and compliance in one per-vehicle subscription with a defined annual renewal.
Samsara
Carriers with mixed tractors, trailers and yard equipment that want one platform rather than a module-by-module enterprise licence.
Geotab
Large carriers facing a hardware refresh, or buyers who want two competing quotes for an identical platform.
Editorial transparency
How we evaluated these alternatives
This page is designed to help buyers compare Omnitracs against real alternatives before demos, pricing calls, or rollout assumptions push the decision too far in one direction.
- We focus on the practical reasons teams move away from Omnitracs, including pricing fit, deployment effort, and platform scope.
- We compare each alternative by what gets easier, what it costs to run, and where Omnitracs may still be the better fit.
- The goal is to make the tradeoffs easier to see before the buying process narrows around a single vendor story.
Why carriers leave Omnitracs
The second is the product catalogue. The older Omnitracs XRS line no longer appears in the catalogue, so quotes, internal documents and comparisons anchored to XRS are anchored to a retired product.
Carriers running it face a migration conversation rather than a renewal one, and that is usually the moment a competing bid gets invited.
The third is organisational change. Omnitracs now sits under Solera Fleet Solutions alongside SmartDrive and Spireon.
That consolidation can suit a carrier wanting fleet management, video safety and recovery from one group, and it also means the roadmap belongs to a larger owner, which is a fair question to ask directly.
The fourth is that mid-market carriers are often paying for enterprise structure they do not need. Omnitracs is built for large carriers, and a 60-truck operation needing tracking, cameras and compliance can get all three from a per-vehicle subscription without an enterprise procurement cycle.
Before the renewal conversation, write down the commercial terms you currently operate under and check whether anyone has a copy. Carriers frequently cannot find the order form that sets their term, which is the single biggest reason a renewal goes through unchallenged.
A contract renewal tracker fixes that for the next cycle, and a vendor evaluation scorecard gets the requirement on paper before a demo.
How to compare Omnitracs alternatives
Rank the shortlist on what each vendor publishes, because the functionality converges and the contracts do not. Motive states 12-month renewal periods on 30 days' notice.
Samsara requires 30 days before licence expiration with the minimum term set by the order form. Geotab delegates contract terms to a reseller agreement.
Omnitracs publishes nothing at all.
Use the one public rate card as your benchmark. Verizon Connect is a GSA Schedule contractor and must publish a government rate list: base tracking $15.95 per vehicle per month, ELD $4.03, road-facing AI dash cam $19.95, dual-channel $24.45, navigation $6.05, DVIR $1.00, installation $106.80 per vehicle one off, verified 13 September 2026.
That itemisation is how you decompose any enterprise bundle.
Add the public contract rates, because they are the only large-fleet figures available. Teletrac Navman priced a base package at $14.99 per vehicle per month across 628 buses for the District of Columbia, and Zonar priced core GPS tracking at $14.70 per bus per month across 1,340 vehicles for Loudoun County, rising to $32.55 fully loaded.
Those are contracted rates at scale rather than estimates.
Compare hardware terms explicitly, since on a large carrier fleet they dominate. Geotab states no upfront device cost and no installation fee.
Motive sells hardware and charges a replacement fee if units are not returned within 30 days. IntelliShift includes hardware with a 30-day return grace and bills unreturned units at then-current list price.
Omnitracs discloses nothing, so ask for the replacement cost per device type.
Finally, separate the transport management question from the telematics question. If you rely on load tendering, settlement or freight billing, a telematics platform will not replace it and you are comparing against Trimble instead.
Buying a telematics platform to replace a TMS is the most expensive mistake available in this category.
Compare total cost, not the entry rate
Check how per-vehicle pricing, contract length, hardware, and add-ons change the total cost as the fleet grows.
Match the rollout to your team's capacity
Look at hardware requirements, setup effort, implementation support, and how much operational lift the platform needs after go-live.
Check the platform covers the work you need
Compare whether cameras, ELD, maintenance, analytics, or integrations are built in or left to extra tools and add-ons.
Best Omnitracs alternatives
These three publish more about what you are signing than Omnitracs does. None publishes a rate, so each card below sets out the contract and hardware terms the vendor does commit to. Every pick follows the standards in how we review software and the selection criteria in how rankings work.
| Alternative | Pricing model | Deployment | Free trial |
|---|---|---|---|
| Motive | Per vehicle | Cloud | Yes |
| Samsara | Per vehicle | Cloud | Yes |
| Geotab | Per vehicle | Cloud | Yes |
Motive
Best published renewal terms
Quick take
Motive covers tracking, AI dash cams and hours-of-service logging in one per-vehicle subscription and states its renewal period in published terms, 12 months on 30 days' notice.
Who this fits
Mid-market and large carriers that want tracking, video and compliance in one per-vehicle subscription with a defined annual renewal.
Pricing
No published price. Motive's pricing page is a demo-request form with no dollar figures, checked 13 September 2026. Figures of roughly $25 to $55 per vehicle per month circulate as third-party estimates and are not vendor rates.
Contract
Renewal periods are 12 months with 30 days' written notice of non-renewal, per Motive's terms of service checked 13 September 2026. The initial term is set per order form rather than published.
Hardware
Purchased. A replacement fee applies if hardware is not returned within 30 days of receiving replacement units, with further charges for defaced returns and unreturned cables.
Best fit
Best published renewal terms
Why teams switch
For a carrier leaving an enterprise vendor that publishes nothing, the attraction is a knowable commitment. Motive's renewal periods are 12 months with 30 days' written notice of non-renewal, stated in its own terms of service, checked 13 September 2026, and it prices per vehicle rather than assembling an enterprise quote from modules.
What you gain with Motive
Motive wins on hours-of-service depth for long-haul work, on a renewal period stated in published terms, and on reaching deployment without an enterprise procurement cycle.
What Motive covers
Motive covers GPS tracking, AI dash cams, hours-of-service logging and spend management in one platform, sold per vehicle and direct. It was formerly KeepTruckin and remains strongest in long-haul trucking.
Where Omnitracs still has an edge
Omnitracs has enterprise trucking depth and a long installed base, and it sits in a group covering video safety and vehicle recovery as well. A large carrier with existing integrations faces switching costs Motive's terms will not offset on their own.
Samsara
Best breadth across mixed assets
Quick take
Samsara matches Motive on scope and reaches trailers, equipment and sites as well as vehicles, with a published subscription agreement and a 30-day notice window.
Who this fits
Carriers with mixed tractors, trailers and yard equipment that want one platform rather than a module-by-module enterprise licence.
Pricing
No published price. Samsara's pricing page asks how many vehicles or assets you run, offers five fleet-size bands from 1 to 5 up to 5,000 or more, and routes you to sales, verified 22 September 2026. Every per-vehicle figure in circulation is a third-party estimate.
Contract
Auto-renews, with written notice at least 30 days before the licence expiration date. The minimum term is not stated as a universal figure and is set by the applicable order form, so read that document rather than the website. Checked 22 September 2026.
Best fit
Best breadth across mixed assets
Why teams switch
Carriers running trailers and yard equipment as well as tractors find Samsara's coverage closer to what an enterprise deployment was meant to deliver, without licensing separate modules for each. It publishes a subscription agreement with a stated 30-day notice window, which is more than Omnitracs offers.
What you gain with Samsara
Samsara wins on breadth across vehicles, trailers and equipment, on integration count, and on publishing subscription terms with a defined notice period.
What Samsara covers
Samsara covers GPS tracking, AI dash cams, hours-of-service logging, maintenance and site visibility in one platform, reaching trailers, equipment and fixed assets as well as powered vehicles.
Where Omnitracs still has an edge
Omnitracs is built for enterprise trucking and sits in a group with video safety and recovery lines. Samsara's minimum term is also set by the order form rather than stated, so it is less predictable than Motive on that one point.
Geotab
Best hardware economics at scale
Quick take
Geotab includes the telematics device with no upfront hardware or installation fee and sells through resellers you can put against each other for the same platform.
Who this fits
Large carriers facing a hardware refresh, or buyers who want two competing quotes for an identical platform.
Pricing
No published price. Geotab's packages page lists the GO Core Plan and the GO Plan, each with a Get Pricing button and no rate, verified 22 September 2026. Because it sells through resellers, the figure you are quoted depends on the partner as much as on the plan.
Contract
Geotab does not state trial terms on its packages page, and contract length, renewal and notice all sit in the reseller agreement. Ask the partner for all three in writing, and get at least two partner quotes for the same configuration.
Hardware
Included. Geotab states no upfront device cost or installation fee on the GO Core Plan, verified 22 September 2026.
Best fit
Best hardware economics at scale
Why teams switch
On a large carrier fleet the hardware line decides the business case. Geotab states there is no upfront device cost and no installation fee on the GO Core Plan, verified 22 September 2026, and that you can move between plans from MyGeotab without disruption. Replacing several hundred units with no device cost changes the first-year numbers on its own.
What you gain with Geotab
Geotab wins on hardware and installation economics, on engine-data depth and an open platform for carriers building their own reporting, and on letting you run two resellers against each other for an identical product.
What Geotab covers
Geotab sells a telematics platform built around its GO devices, with a GO Core Plan and a fuller GO Plan, reaching buyers through a reseller network. It has one of the largest installed bases in the category.
Where Omnitracs still has an edge
Omnitracs is one accountable enterprise vendor with trucking-specific depth. With Geotab, the quote, the install and the support all vary by partner, which is a real risk on a large distributed fleet.
Of the Omnitracs alternatives here, open Motive against Omnitracs if a stated 12-month renewal and per-vehicle pricing are what you want, and Samsara against Omnitracs if trailers and yard equipment belong in the same platform. Consider Geotab if a hardware refresh dominates the business case.
Whichever route you take, insist on contract length, renewal, notice period, early-termination fee and hardware replacement cost in writing, because Omnitracs publishes none of them, and read the Omnitracs pricing page for the full record of what is withheld.
Before the shortlist is final, the fleet management categories show where each alternative sits in the market, and the fleet calculators put a cost against each one before you request a quote.
Frequently asked questions
Quick answers to the questions buyers usually ask once the category, software, or rollout details start getting more specific.
How much does Omnitracs cost per month?
Omnitracs publishes no pricing. There has never been a pricing page on omnitracs.com, the pricing URL returns an error, and four independent review platforms each record the vendor declining to supply a figure. Checked 30 September 2026. Aggregator figures are not treated as a source of truth here.
Is Omnitracs still in business?
Yes. It now sits under Solera Fleet Solutions alongside SmartDrive and Spireon, which puts fleet management, video safety and vehicle recovery under one group. Ask how the three lines are being integrated, because that affects the roadmap you are buying into.
What happened to Omnitracs XRS?
The XRS line no longer appears in the product catalogue, so any quote or comparison anchored to XRS is anchored to a retired product. If a reseller or an older document references it, ask which current product replaces it and what the migration involves.
Does Omnitracs publish a customer agreement?
No. Its website terms of use state that terms for the purchase or use of its products sit in a separate contract, and that contract is not public. Contract length, renewal, early-termination fees and hardware ownership are therefore all quote-only, so insist on each in writing.
Is Omnitracs a good ELD?
It is an established enterprise option and hours-of-service compliance is table stakes across this category, so the question is the rest of the platform and the commercial terms. Fleets whose primary need is compliance usually find cheaper published options in the ELD compliance category.
What is the most affordable ELD device?
On published rates, One Step GPS at $20.95 per vehicle per month for tracking plus hours-of-service logging, or Garmin eLog at $249.99 one-off with no subscription. Garmin's trade-off is that it is registered for local transfer only, so there is no hosted back office.
What is the best ELD for trucking?
For long-haul carriers the compliance depth usually comes down to Motive or Samsara, both of which bundle hours-of-service logging with tracking and cameras. Neither publishes a rate, so compare their stated renewal terms as well as their functionality.
How much does fleet GPS tracking cost?
The firmest public anchors are Verizon Connect's GSA card at $15.95 per vehicle per month plus $4.03 for ELD, verified 13 September 2026, and two public school-bus contracts pricing core tracking at $14.70 and $14.99 per vehicle per month at fleet scale.
What should I demand in an Omnitracs quote?
Contract length, renewal mechanism, notice period, early-termination fee, hardware ownership and the replacement cost per device type, all written on the same page. Because no customer agreement is published, nothing on that list is knowable from the website, and an unwritten term is not a term.
Sources reviewed for this page
These are the main source paths buyers usually use when they move from initial product interest into pricing, tradeoff review, and direct comparison.
- Omnitracs official website: Used to verify product positioning, feature scope, and vendor claims.
- Omnitracs pricing: Used to review pricing structure, contract patterns, and rollout-cost questions.
- Omnitracs comparisons: Used to review 2 published head-to-head comparison pages connected to this product.