Verizon Connect alternatives compared

Geotab is the strongest Verizon Connect alternative for fleets fitting hardware at scale, because Verizon Connect charges $106.80 per vehicle for professional installation and Geotab states no installation fee at all. Buyers searching for Verizon Connect alternatives are usually reacting to that one-off line or to module-by-module pricing adding up.

Verizon Connect is the one vendor in this category whose rates are public, because as a GSA Schedule contractor it must publish a government rate card: base vehicle tracking $15.95 per vehicle per month, ELD $4.03, AI dash cams $19.95 to $24.45, navigation $6.05, DVIR $1.00, verified 13 September 2026. Samsara, Motive and Geotab publish nothing, so the comparison runs on contract terms instead.

Written by Rajat GuptaRajat GuptaEditor

Rajat Gupta runs FleetOpsClub and writes its software reviews, comparisons and pricing pages. Every tool on the site is assessed against the vendor's own published documentation and pricing, and each pricing figure carries the date it was last verified so readers can judge how current it is. Where a vendor does not publish a price, the page says so rather than estimating one.

Last reviewed Aug 22, 2026

Why buyers look for Verizon Connect alternatives

The first trigger is the installation charge. Professional installation is $106.80 per vehicle one off on the published rate card, up 47% from $72.54 on the 2023 card, while every subscription rate above it has stayed flat since 2023. Across a 200-vehicle rollout that single line is more than $21,000, and Geotab states there is no upfront device cost or installation fee at all.

Best Verizon Connect alternative

Geotab is the best Verizon Connect alternative for fleets fitting hardware at scale, because it states no upfront device cost or installation fee against Verizon Connect's $106.80 per vehicle. Samsara and Motive suit fleets that want a bundled platform rather than per-module pricing, though neither publishes a rate.

Geotab logo

Geotab

Best for

Fleets fitting hardware across a large number of vehicles at once, where installation and device cost dominate the first-year budget.

Samsara logo

Samsara

Best for

Fleets buying tracking, video and compliance together, or running mixed vehicles, trailers and equipment under one contract.

Motive logo

Motive

Best for

Trucking fleets that want compliance depth and video in one subscription with a defined annual renewal.

Editorial transparency

How we evaluated these alternatives

This page is designed to help buyers compare Verizon Connect against real alternatives before demos, pricing calls, or rollout assumptions push the decision too far in one direction.

  • We focus on the practical reasons teams move away from Verizon Connect, including pricing fit, deployment effort, and platform scope.
  • We compare each alternative by what gets easier, what it costs to run, and where Verizon Connect may still be the better fit.
  • The goal is to make the tradeoffs easier to see before the buying process narrows around a single vendor story.

Read our review methodologyOpen Verizon Connect profile

Why fleets leave Verizon Connect

The second is the arithmetic of buying modules separately. Base tracking at $15.95 is competitive, but ELD at $4.03, navigation at $6.05, DVIR at $1.00, roadside assistance at $1.51 and a dual-channel camera at $24.45 are each their own line.

A vehicle needing tracking, compliance and video reaches about $44 a month before installation, at which point a bundled quote from Samsara or Motive can land lower.

The third is that the published card is the government rate, not necessarily yours. Commercial quotes may differ, so a fleet that assumed $15.95 and was quoted more has no public rate to point at.

The card remains the best benchmark in the category; it is not a guarantee.

A fourth group wants native AI video rather than a camera priced as an add-on with ADAS and distracted-driving alerts as further line items. Samsara and Motive both build video into the platform, which for a safety-led programme is a different product rather than a cheaper one.

Before moving, cost the modules you use against a bundled quote properly. List the line items on your current invoice, price the same capability from two bundled vendors, and include installation and hardware return terms on both sides.

A fleet budget tracker makes that comparison visible, and a device install checklist keeps the rollout cost honest.

How to compare Verizon Connect alternatives

Use your own Verizon Connect rate card as the yardstick, because nothing else in this category itemises. Every alternative will quote a bundle, so decompose it: ask what the tracking, the ELD, the camera and the installation each cost inside the bundle.

A vendor unwilling to break a quote into those four is quoting a number rather than a price.

Add the public contract rates to your evidence. Two school-bus procurements price core tracking at $14.99 per vehicle per month across 628 buses for the District of Columbia and $14.70 per bus per month across 1,340 vehicles for Loudoun County, with the latter rising to $32.55 fully loaded with inspection and ridership modules.

Those are contracted rates at scale rather than estimates.

Compare hardware economics explicitly, because they differ by more than the subscription does. Geotab includes the device with no upfront cost or installation fee.

Motive sells hardware and charges a replacement fee if units are not returned within 30 days. Samsara leaves hardware terms to the order form.

Verizon Connect includes the Reveal device and cable in the base line but charges $106.80 to fit it.

Then compare the exits. Verizon Connect requires at least 30 days before the end of the current service term, by phone or email to account management.

Motive renews in 12-month periods on 30 days' notice. Samsara requires 30 days before licence expiration with the minimum term set by the order form.

Geotab's notice sits in the reseller agreement, so ask the partner directly.

Finally, decide whether you are buying modules or a platform, because the two pricing models are not comparable line by line. A fleet that needs only tracking is better served by per-module pricing or a published low-cost option like Quartix at $14.00 per vehicle per month.

A fleet that needs tracking, video, compliance and maintenance together is buying a platform, and should compare bundled quotes against each other rather than against a rate card.

Pricing fit

Compare total cost, not the entry rate

Check how per-vehicle pricing, contract length, hardware, and add-ons change the total cost as the fleet grows.

Deployment fit

Match the rollout to your team's capacity

Look at hardware requirements, setup effort, implementation support, and how much operational lift the platform needs after go-live.

Platform fit

Check the platform covers the work you need

Compare whether cameras, ELD, maintenance, analytics, or integrations are built in or left to extra tools and add-ons.

Best Verizon Connect alternatives

These three are the products buyers put next to Verizon Connect most often. All three bundle rather than itemise, and all three publish no rate, so each card below sets out what the vendor does commit to in writing. Every pick follows the standards in how we review software and the selection criteria in how rankings work.

Alternatives to Verizon Connect, compared
AlternativePricing modelDeploymentFree trial
GeotabPer vehicleCloudYes
SamsaraPer vehicleCloudYes
MotivePer vehicleCloudYes
Geotab logo

Geotab

Best when installation cost is the problem

Quick take

Geotab states no upfront device cost and no installation fee, which is the direct answer to Verizon Connect's $106.80 per vehicle installation charge, and sells through resellers you can put against each other.

Who this fits

Fleets fitting hardware across a large number of vehicles at once, where installation and device cost dominate the first-year budget.

Pricing

No published price. Geotab's packages page lists the GO Core Plan and the GO Plan, each with a Get Pricing button and no rate, verified 22 September 2026. Because it sells through resellers, the figure you are quoted depends on the partner as much as on the plan.

Contract

Geotab does not state trial terms on its packages page, and contract length, renewal and notice all sit in the reseller agreement. Ask the partner for all three in writing before signing, and get at least two partner quotes for the same configuration.

Hardware

Included. Geotab states no upfront device cost or installation fee on the GO Core Plan, verified 22 September 2026.

Best fit

Best when installation cost is the problem

Why teams switch

The installation line is the whole argument for a large rollout. Geotab states there is no upfront device cost and no installation fee on the GO Core Plan, verified 22 September 2026, against Verizon Connect's published $106.80 per vehicle. At 200 vehicles that is a difference of more than $21,000 in year one before any monthly rate is compared.

What you gain with Geotab

Geotab wins on hardware and installation economics, on plan flexibility after go-live, and on the reseller model, which lets you put two partners against each other for an identical platform.

What Geotab covers

Geotab sells a telematics platform built around its GO devices, with a GO Core Plan and a fuller GO Plan, reaching buyers through a reseller network. It has one of the largest installed bases in the category.

Where Verizon Connect still has an edge

Verizon Connect publishes its rates and Geotab publishes none, so budgeting is far easier on Verizon Connect. Verizon Connect also lets you buy a single module, where a Geotab reseller is selling a platform.

Quick take

Samsara bundles tracking, native AI cameras, hours-of-service logging and maintenance into one quoted platform, which suits fleets buying several modules at once rather than one.

Who this fits

Fleets buying tracking, video and compliance together, or running mixed vehicles, trailers and equipment under one contract.

Pricing

No published price. Samsara's pricing page asks how many vehicles or assets you run, offers five fleet-size bands from 1 to 5 up to 5,000 or more, and routes you to sales, verified 22 September 2026. Every per-vehicle figure in circulation is a third-party estimate.

Contract

Auto-renews, with written notice at least 30 days before the licence expiration date. The minimum term is not stated as a universal figure and is set by the applicable order form. Checked 22 September 2026.

Best fit

Best bundled platform with native video

Why teams switch

For a fleet buying several modules, a bundle can beat an itemised card. Tracking, ELD and a dual-channel camera on Verizon Connect's published rates come to about $44.43 per vehicle per month before installation, and that is the number a bundled quote has to beat. Samsara's video is also built into the platform rather than sold alongside it.

What you gain with Samsara

Samsara wins on native video tied to vehicle data, on breadth across trailers and equipment, and on one quoted number instead of six line items.

What Samsara covers

Samsara covers GPS tracking, AI dash cams, hours-of-service logging, maintenance and site visibility in one platform, with native video rather than a camera priced as an add-on, and coverage reaching trailers and equipment.

Where Verizon Connect still has an edge

Verizon Connect publishes a rate you can budget and lets you buy one module at a time. A fleet that needs only tracking pays $15.95 and nothing else, where Samsara quotes a platform.

Motive logo

Motive

Best stated renewal terms in the bundle

Quick take

Motive offers the same bundle as Samsara with its renewal period stated in published terms, 12 months on 30 days' notice, though hardware is purchased with a 30-day return penalty.

Who this fits

Trucking fleets that want compliance depth and video in one subscription with a defined annual renewal.

Pricing

No published price. Motive's pricing page is a demo-request form with no dollar figures, checked 13 September 2026. Figures of roughly $25 to $55 per vehicle per month circulate as third-party estimates and are not vendor rates.

Contract

Renewal periods are 12 months with 30 days' written notice of non-renewal, per Motive's terms of service checked 13 September 2026. The initial term is set per order form rather than published.

Hardware

Purchased. A replacement fee applies if hardware is not returned within 30 days of receiving replacement units, with further charges for defaced returns and unreturned cables.

Best fit

Best stated renewal terms in the bundle

Why teams switch

It offers the same bundling argument as Samsara with clearer exit terms: renewal periods are 12 months with 30 days' written notice of non-renewal, stated in Motive's own terms of service, checked 13 September 2026. For a fleet uneasy about leaving a published rate card for a quoted bundle, a defined one-year renewal reduces the risk.

What you gain with Motive

Motive wins on hours-of-service depth for long-haul work, on a renewal period stated in published terms, and on bundling compliance and video into one subscription.

What Motive covers

Motive covers GPS tracking, AI dash cams, hours-of-service logging and spend management in one platform, sold per vehicle and direct. It was formerly KeepTruckin and is strongest in long-haul trucking.

Where Verizon Connect still has an edge

Verizon Connect's itemised rates and included device beat Motive's purchased hardware with a 30-day return penalty for fleets that want to know the cost of each piece. Verizon Connect's ELD line at $4.03 is also hard to match as a standalone compliance purchase.

Of the Verizon Connect alternatives here, open Verizon Connect against Geotab if the $106.80 per vehicle installation charge is what is driving the review, Samsara against Verizon Connect if you need tracking, video and compliance bundled, and Motive against Verizon Connect if a stated annual renewal matters. Take your own rate card into every call and ask each vendor to break its bundle into tracking, ELD, camera and installation, because nothing else in this category itemises.

The Verizon Connect pricing page has the full published card.

Before the shortlist is final, the fleet management categories show where each alternative sits in the market, and the fleet calculators put a cost against each one before you request a quote.

Frequently asked questions

Quick answers to the questions buyers usually ask once the category, software, or rollout details start getting more specific.

How much is Verizon fleet tracking?

Base vehicle tracking is $15.95 per vehicle per month on Verizon Connect's published GSA rate card, which includes the Reveal device, cable and software subscription. ELD adds $4.03, navigation $6.05, DVIR $1.00 and roadside assistance $1.51, each as its own line. Verified 13 September 2026.

How much does Verizon Connect cost per month?

It depends on how many modules you buy, because each is priced separately. Base tracking plus ELD is $19.98 per vehicle per month. Add a dual-channel AI dash cam at $24.45 and the same vehicle reaches $44.43 a month, before the one-off $106.80 installation charge.

How much does Verizon ELD cost?

$4.03 per vehicle per month on top of base tracking, as a separate subscription line rather than a bundled feature, verified 13 September 2026. It is the only itemised ELD rate published by a major vendor in this category, which makes it the standard benchmark for any quote.

Why does Verizon Connect publish prices when rivals do not?

Because it is a GSA Schedule contractor, and federal contractors must publish their government rate card. That obligation, not a marketing decision, is why its per-module rates are public while Samsara, Motive and Geotab all publish nothing.

Who are Verizon Connect's biggest competitors?

Samsara and Motive on platform scope and native video, and Geotab on installed base and hardware economics. None of the three publishes a rate, so the comparison runs on contract terms and hardware ownership rather than on price lists.

Is there free fleet management software?

Only at the smallest scale. Simply Fleet covers up to five vehicles free and then charges $3 per vehicle per month, verified 30 September 2026. Free tiers cover maintenance records rather than live tracking, because tracking needs a cellular connection that carries a recurring cost.

Is there a fleet GPS tracker with no monthly fee?

No, for anything reporting live. The monthly fee covers cellular data and the platform, which is why published rates in this category sit between about $14 and $25 per vehicle per month. Devices marketed as subscription-free are generally Bluetooth tags without live location.

Is Verizon Connect worth it?

It is worth it where you want to buy only the modules you use and need a rate you can budget without a sales call. It is poor value where you need a bundled platform, because buying five modules plus $106.80 per vehicle installation costs more than a quoted all-in deal often does.

Does Verizon Connect charge for installation?

Yes, $106.80 per vehicle as a one-off on the published rate card, up 47% from $72.54 on the 2023 card while every subscription rate stayed flat. Across 200 vehicles that is over $21,000, and Geotab states no installation fee at all.

How do I cancel Verizon Connect?

The agreement auto-renews, with at least 30 days' notice before the end of the then-current service term, given by phone or email to account management, per the published master service agreement checked 13 September 2026. Cancelling by email to a named person rather than a portal is worth confirming in writing.

All fleet software categoriesAll fleet software profiles

Sources reviewed for this page

These are the main source paths buyers usually use when they move from initial product interest into pricing, tradeoff review, and direct comparison.