Geotab alternatives compared
Samsara is the strongest Geotab alternative for fleets that want one accountable vendor instead of a reseller, because Geotab's platform is sold through partners and the quote, the implementation and the support all vary with which partner you pick. Buyers searching for Geotab alternatives are usually reacting to that channel rather than to the telematics.
Geotab publishes no price: its packages page lists a GO Core Plan and a GO Plan, each with a Get Pricing button and no rate, verified 22 September 2026. What it does state is unusual and worth keeping in view, which is that there is no upfront device cost and no installation fee.
Samsara and Motive publish nothing at all, and Verizon Connect publishes a full itemised rate card because it has to.
Rajat Gupta runs FleetOpsClub and writes its software reviews, comparisons and pricing pages. Every tool on the site is assessed against the vendor's own published documentation and pricing, and each pricing figure carries the date it was last verified so readers can judge how current it is. Where a vendor does not publish a price, the page says so rather than estimating one.
Last reviewed Aug 10, 2026Why buyers look for Geotab alternatives
The most common reason fleets leave Geotab has nothing to do with the platform. Geotab sells through a reseller network, so the price, the installation quality, the support response and the contract terms all come from a partner rather than from Geotab. Two fleets on identical hardware can have completely different experiences, and when the partner relationship goes wrong there is no second line to call.
Best Geotab alternative
Samsara is the best Geotab alternative for fleets that want a single direct vendor rather than a reseller, with native AI cameras and broader asset coverage. Motive is the closest match on scope and price pressure. Verizon Connect is the only one of the four with a published, itemised per-vehicle rate card.
Samsara
Fleets that want one accountable vendor across tracking, video and compliance, or that run mixed vehicles, trailers and equipment.
Motive
Trucking and mixed commercial fleets that want native video and hours-of-service depth, and buyers who need a same-scope bid to move a reseller quote.
Verizon Connect
Fleets that want to buy only the modules they use, and any buyer who needs a public reference rate to decompose a bundled telematics quote.
Editorial transparency
How we evaluated these alternatives
This page is designed to help buyers compare Geotab against real alternatives before demos, pricing calls, or rollout assumptions push the decision too far in one direction.
- We focus on the practical reasons teams move away from Geotab, including pricing fit, deployment effort, and platform scope.
- We compare each alternative by what gets easier, what it costs to run, and where Geotab may still be the better fit.
- The goal is to make the tradeoffs easier to see before the buying process narrows around a single vendor story.
Why fleets leave Geotab
The second reason is that the contract lives with the reseller too. Geotab does not state trial terms on its packages page, and initial term, renewal mechanism and notice period sit in the partner agreement.
Fleets that want a single document covering platform, hardware and support find that structure harder to manage than a direct subscription with Samsara or Motive.
The third is the video stack. Geotab's strength is vehicle data: engine diagnostics, location and driver behaviour from a wired gateway.
Fleets that decide cameras are now the priority often find a camera-native platform fits better than adding video alongside a telematics deployment, which is why Lytx and Netradyne appear on these shortlists as well.
A fourth group is going the other way, towards published pricing. Fleets under about 50 vehicles that need location, geofencing and driver behaviour are comparing a quote-only platform against Quartix at $14.00 per vehicle per month or One Step GPS at $13.95, both verified 30 September 2026.
At that size, the ability to read the price without a sales call usually wins.
Before you move, price the thing Geotab gives away. It states there is no upfront device cost and no installation fee on the GO Core Plan, and that you can move between plans from MyGeotab without disruption.
Verizon Connect charges $106.80 per vehicle for professional installation, up 47% from $72.54 on its 2023 rate card. Across 200 vehicles that one line is over $21,000, which is the kind of number a fleet budget tracker makes visible before the decision rather than after.
How to compare Geotab alternatives
Use the one published rate card in this category as your anchor. Verizon Connect is a GSA Schedule contractor and so must publish a government rate list: base vehicle tracking $15.95 per vehicle per month, ELD $4.03, powered asset tracking $9.95, road-facing AI dash cam $19.95, dual-channel $24.45, driver-facing add-on $4.50, navigation $6.05, DVIR $1.00, roadside assistance $1.51, and professional installation $106.80 per vehicle one off.
Verified 13 September 2026. Nothing else in this comparison itemises like that, so use it to decompose a bundled quote.
Two public school-bus contracts give the same effect at scale. Teletrac Navman priced a base package at $14.99 per vehicle per month across 628 buses for the District of Columbia, and Zonar priced core GPS tracking at $14.70 per bus per month across 1,340 vehicles for Loudoun County, rising to $32.55 fully loaded with inspection and ridership modules.
Those are contracted rates for large fleets, which is exactly the comparison a sales team will not offer.
Compare hardware terms line by line, because they vary more than the software does. Geotab includes the device with no upfront cost or installation fee.
Motive sells hardware and charges a replacement fee if units are not returned within 30 days. Samsara leaves hardware terms to the order form.
Across a few hundred vehicles those differences are larger than any monthly rate gap.
With Geotab specifically, run two resellers against each other. The platform is identical, so the quote is the only variable, and that is a form of price pressure a direct-sold product does not allow.
Ask each for the same configuration in writing, with plan, hardware terms, installation and contract length on one page.
Then diary the exit before you sign. Samsara requires written notice at least 30 days before licence expiration, Motive renews in 12-month periods on 30 days' notice, and Verizon Connect requires at least 30 days before the end of the current service term by phone or email.
Geotab's notice sits in the reseller agreement, so ask for it explicitly. A telematics contract renewal tracker is the cheapest control in this category.
Compare total cost, not the entry rate
Check how per-vehicle pricing, contract length, hardware, and add-ons change the total cost as the fleet grows.
Match the rollout to your team's capacity
Look at hardware requirements, setup effort, implementation support, and how much operational lift the platform needs after go-live.
Check the platform covers the work you need
Compare whether cameras, ELD, maintenance, analytics, or integrations are built in or left to extra tools and add-ons.
Best Geotab alternatives
These three are the products buyers put next to Geotab most often. Samsara and Motive are direct-sold platforms with no published price, and Verizon Connect is the one vendor in the category with an itemised public rate card. Every pick follows the standards in how we review software and the selection criteria in how rankings work.
| Alternative | Pricing model | Deployment | Free trial |
|---|---|---|---|
| Samsara | Per vehicle | Cloud | Yes |
| Motive | Per vehicle | Cloud | Yes |
| Verizon Connect | Per vehicle | Cloud | Yes |
Samsara
Best for one direct vendor relationship
Quick take
Samsara sells direct rather than through resellers, with native AI cameras and coverage that reaches trailers, equipment and sites as well as vehicles, but publishes no price.
Who this fits
Fleets that want one accountable vendor across tracking, video and compliance, or that run mixed vehicles, trailers and equipment.
Pricing
No published price. Samsara's pricing page asks how many vehicles or assets you run, offers five fleet-size bands from 1 to 5 up to 5,000 or more, and routes you to sales, verified 22 September 2026. Every per-vehicle figure in circulation is a third-party estimate rather than a vendor rate.
Contract
Auto-renews, with written notice at least 30 days before the licence expiration date. The minimum term is not stated as a universal figure and is set by the applicable order form, so read that rather than the website. Checked 22 September 2026.
Best fit
Best for one direct vendor relationship
Why teams switch
The reason to move is accountability. With Geotab, the quote, the install and the support all come from a reseller, and the quality varies by partner. Samsara gives you a single contract and a single escalation path, which matters most to fleets that have already had a bad partner experience rather than a bad platform one.
What you gain with Samsara
Samsara wins on native AI video rather than partner-assembled cameras, on reaching mixed assets beyond vehicles, and on being one vendor who owns the outcome end to end.
What Samsara covers
Samsara covers GPS tracking, AI dash cams, hours-of-service logging, maintenance and site visibility in one platform, sold direct rather than through partners. Its coverage reaches trailers, equipment and fixed assets as well as powered vehicles.
Where Geotab still has an edge
Geotab states there is no upfront device cost and no installation fee, and lets you move between plans from MyGeotab without disruption. On a large hardware refresh that is a real cash advantage, and the reseller model lets you force two quotes for the same platform.
Motive
Best competing bid on the same scope
Quick take
Motive covers tracking, AI dash cams and hours-of-service logging in one platform and renews in stated 12-month periods, which makes it the most straightforward competing bid against a reseller quote.
Who this fits
Trucking and mixed commercial fleets that want native video and hours-of-service depth, and buyers who need a same-scope bid to move a reseller quote.
Pricing
No published price. Motive's pricing page is a demo-request form with no dollar figures, checked 13 September 2026. Figures of roughly $25 to $55 per vehicle per month circulate as third-party estimates and are not vendor rates.
Contract
Renewal periods are 12 months with 30 days' written notice of non-renewal, per Motive's terms of service checked 13 September 2026. The initial term is set per order form rather than published.
Hardware
Purchased. A replacement fee applies if hardware is not returned within 30 days of receiving replacement units, with further charges for defaced returns and unreturned cables, per Motive's published hardware terms.
Best fit
Best competing bid on the same scope
Why teams switch
In a category where nobody publishes a rate, a credible competing bid is the only real negotiating tool, and Motive is the bid that matches Geotab's scope while adding native video. Its renewal terms are also stated rather than delegated: 12-month renewal periods on 30 days' written notice, checked 13 September 2026.
What you gain with Motive
Motive wins on hours-of-service depth for long-haul operations, on a stated renewal period in its own terms, and on being a single direct relationship with native cameras rather than a partner-assembled stack.
What Motive covers
Motive covers GPS tracking, AI dash cams, hours-of-service logging and spend management in one platform, sold per vehicle and direct. It was formerly KeepTruckin and remains strongest in long-haul trucking.
Where Geotab still has an edge
Geotab's engine-data depth and open platform suit fleets building their own reporting, and its no-upfront-hardware position is better than Motive's purchased hardware with a 30-day return penalty. Geotab's installed base also means more third-party integrations built around it.
Verizon Connect
Best for a price you can read today
Quick take
Verizon Connect is a GSA Schedule contractor, so its per-module rates are public: $15.95 base tracking, $4.03 ELD, $19.95 upward for cameras, and $106.80 one-off installation per vehicle.
Who this fits
Fleets that want to buy only the modules they use, and any buyer who needs a public reference rate to decompose a bundled telematics quote.
Pricing
Published as a GSA rate card, verified 13 September 2026: base vehicle tracking $15.95 per vehicle per month, ELD $4.03, powered asset tracking $9.95 and non-powered $8.45, road-facing AI dash cam $19.95 and dual-channel $24.45 with a driver-facing add-on at $4.50, navigation $6.05, DVIR $1.00, roadside assistance $1.51, and professional installation $106.80 per vehicle one off. Commercial quotes may differ from the government rate.
Contract
Auto-renews, with at least 30 days' notice before the end of the then-current service term, given by phone or email to account management, per the published master service agreement checked 13 September 2026. Cancelling by email to a named account manager rather than through a portal is worth confirming in writing.
Hardware
Purchased, with the Reveal device and cable included in the base subscription line. Professional installation is a separate one-off charge of $106.80 per vehicle on the published rate card.
Best fit
Best for a price you can read today
Why teams switch
It is the only vendor here whose rates are public, and that changes how you buy. As a GSA Schedule contractor it must publish a government rate card, so every module has a number against it. Even if you never buy Verizon Connect, that card is the tool for taking a bundled quote apart and asking what each piece costs.
What you gain with Verizon Connect
Verizon Connect wins on price transparency, on module-level itemisation that makes a quote comparable, and on letting a fleet buy only tracking without paying for a platform it will not use.
What Verizon Connect covers
Verizon Connect sells per-vehicle tracking with modules priced separately: ELD, AI dash cams, navigation, DVIR and roadside assistance are each their own subscription line rather than part of a bundle.
Where Geotab still has an edge
Geotab includes hardware with no installation fee, where Verizon Connect charges $106.80 per vehicle for professional installation, up 47% from $72.54 on its 2023 rate card. Geotab's open platform and engine-data depth are also stronger for fleets doing their own analysis.
Of the Geotab alternatives here, open Samsara against Geotab if you want one accountable vendor instead of a reseller, Motive against Geotab if you need a same-scope competing bid with stated renewal terms, and Verizon Connect against Geotab if a published, itemised rate matters more than an open platform. Before any of those calls, hold the quote against the $15.95 base and $4.03 ELD rates on Verizon Connect's public card, and read the Geotab pricing page for what the vendor does and does not disclose.
Before the shortlist is final, the fleet management categories show where each alternative sits in the market, and the fleet calculators put a cost against each one before you request a quote.
Frequently asked questions
Quick answers to the questions buyers usually ask once the category, software, or rollout details start getting more specific.
How much is Geotab a month?
Geotab publishes no price. Its packages page lists a GO Core Plan and a GO Plan, each with a Get Pricing button and no rate, verified 22 September 2026. Because Geotab sells through resellers, the figure you are quoted depends on which partner you go through as much as on the plan.
How much does Geotab ELD cost?
Geotab prices hours-of-service logging inside a reseller quote rather than as a published line item. For a public benchmark, Verizon Connect's GSA rate card charges $4.03 per vehicle per month for ELD on top of $15.95 base tracking, verified 13 September 2026.
How much does GPS tracking cost per vehicle?
Published rates in this category run from about $14 to $16 per vehicle per month for core tracking. Verizon Connect's government rate card sits at $15.95, Quartix publishes $14.00, and One Step GPS publishes $13.95. All three were verified in September 2026.
Does Geotab record audio?
A GO telematics device records vehicle and location data, not sound: it is a data gateway wired to the vehicle, with no microphone. Audio only becomes possible if a camera is added alongside it, and whether that camera captures audio depends on the model and on how it is configured. Get that setting in writing.
Does Geotab record when a vehicle is off?
A telematics device draws power from the vehicle and reports trip data, so it has nothing to record when the engine is off beyond occasional status checks. The question usually matters because of cameras rather than trackers, so confirm the parking-mode behaviour of any camera added to the deployment.
What happens if I unplug Geotab?
The device stops reporting, and the gap is visible rather than silent: fleet platforms log the disconnection and can alert an administrator when it happens. Unplugging a tracker is normally treated as a policy matter under a vehicle-use agreement rather than a technical one, so the written policy matters more than the hardware.
Which is better, Samsara or Geotab?
Geotab includes the device with no upfront hardware or installation fee and sells through resellers, so you can put two partners against each other for the same platform. Samsara gives you one accountable vendor and tighter native video. The Samsara and Geotab comparison sets out where each fits.
What are the main differences between Samsara and Geotab?
Three things: the sales channel, the hardware economics and the video stack. Geotab is reseller-led with hardware included and no installation fee. Samsara is direct-sold with native AI cameras. Neither publishes a price, so the comparison turns on contract terms rather than on rate cards.
Is Geotab a good ELD?
It is a registered option and the compliance function is table stakes across this category, so the real question is the rest of the platform. Fleets whose primary need is hours-of-service logging rather than full telematics usually find cheaper published options in the ELD compliance category.
How do I get a fair Geotab quote?
Ask two resellers for the same configuration, in writing, with the plan, the hardware terms and the contract length on the same page. Because the platform is identical between partners, the quote is the only variable, and holding both against Verizon Connect's published $15.95 base rate gives you a third reference point.
Sources reviewed for this page
These are the main source paths buyers usually use when they move from initial product interest into pricing, tradeoff review, and direct comparison.
- Geotab official website: Used to verify product positioning, feature scope, and vendor claims.
- Geotab pricing: Used to review pricing structure, contract patterns, and rollout-cost questions.
- Geotab comparisons: Used to review 8 published head-to-head comparison pages connected to this product.