Rastrac pricing behind a quote

Rastrac publishes no rate. rastrac.com/pricing returns a 404, there are no public plan tiers, and every route on the site leads to Request a Demo or Contact Us.

Checked 30 September 2026.

One figure appears, and it is a comparison claim rather than a price. The site states that RastracFusion connects to a vehicle's factory-embedded systems and delivers real-time tracking, engine diagnostics and maintenance alerts "for less than $1 a day".

That is an upper bound with nothing purchasable behind it.

Converting it is the useful move: less than a dollar a day is under about $30 per vehicle per month. That is more than twice the published floor of this market, which tells you the claim is a marketing ceiling rather than a competitive position.

Written by Rajat GuptaRajat GuptaEditor

Rajat Gupta runs FleetOpsClub and writes its software reviews, comparisons and pricing pages. Every tool on the site is assessed against the vendor's own published documentation and pricing, and each pricing figure carries the date it was last verified so readers can judge how current it is. Where a vendor does not publish a price, the page says so rather than estimating one.

Last reviewed Aug 20, 2026

Pricing is only one part of the evaluation. How we review software sets out what else we check beyond cost, and the fleet management categories show how pricing compares across the market.

Rastrac pricing

Do the arithmetic on the one figure available, because it is the only thing you can hold Rastrac to. Under $1 a day is under roughly $30.42 per vehicle per month.

Against the published rates verified in September 2026, One Step GPS charges $13.95 per vehicle per month, Quartix $14.00 and $15.00, Verizon Connect's GSA card $15.95 for base tracking, and Azuga $25, $30 and $35 across its ladder. Two public procurement contracts put base tracking at $14.70 and $14.99 per vehicle per month.

So Rastrac's own stated ceiling is above every published base rate in GPS fleet tracking except the top of Azuga's. Walking in with that comparison is more useful than asking what it costs.

The hardware position is unusual and it is the main hidden cost. Rastrac's terms state that all equipment must be purchased when using month-to-month terms of service, with the price not stated and installation available for a separate fee.

So the entry cost is a device purchase of unknown size plus an installation fee of unknown size on top of a subscription with no published rate: three unknowns in one quote. For scale on the installation line, Verizon Connect publishes $106.80 per vehicle, Zonar's school district contract bills roughly $278 per vehicle, and Geotab states there is no installation fee at all.

The return terms make over-ordering expensive. A device may be returned only in new or unused condition, with a restocking fee of 25% of the original cost.

Fit a unit to a vehicle and it is no longer returnable at any price. That is less punitive than Rhino Fleet Tracking's 40% restocking fee and its outright refusal of returns on displays and tablets, and it is still a reason to pilot two or three vehicles before committing to a fleet order.

The cancellation mechanic deserves reading twice because it is longer than the stated 30 days. The terms say the customer may terminate at any time by providing a minimum 30-day advance written notice, that all cancellations become effective on the final day of the month following the 30-day cancellation period, and that the customer is responsible for all fees billed prior to cancellation including the notice period.

Give notice on the 20th of a month and the 30 days run into the following month, with the cancellation then taking effect at the end of the month after that. The flexibility is real, and the practical exit is closer to two months than one.

Custom quote

Contact for pricing

Rastrac builds a quote around your fleet size, hardware mix, update interval, and add-ons rather than publishing fixed tiers

Pricing source: official pricing page, verified 2026-09-30. Rastrac publishes no rate. rastrac.com/pricing returns HTTP 404 and the site carries only a cost comparison, not a price: "RastracFusion connects to your vehicles' factory-embedded systems and delivers real-time tracking, engine diagnostics, and maintenance alerts for less than $1 a day." That is an upper-bound claim with no purchasable figure behind it; everything else routes to "Request a Demo" or "Contact Us".

The Rastrac dollar-a-day claim

Ask for three numbers, not one: the monthly subscription per vehicle, the device purchase price, and the installation fee. Rastrac publishes none of them, and its own less-than-a-dollar-a-day claim describes only the first.

A quote that bundles all three into a single figure cannot be compared with the published rates above.

Choose month-to-month unless a longer term buys a stated discount. One, two and three-year terms are available by election rather than by default, which is a better starting position than most of this category offers.

If a term is offered, ask what the rate difference is and price the flexibility you would be giving up.

Pilot before you order in quantity, and give notice earlier than you think. Devices are only returnable new and unused with a 25% restocking fee, so run a telematics device install checklist on two or three vehicle types first.

Keep a fleet asset register from the first fitting, model the device, installation and subscription over the full term in a total cost of ownership worksheet, and remember that cancellation lands at the end of the month after the 30-day notice period.

PlanPricing summary

Basic GPS tracking

Real-time tracking, geofencing, basic alerts

Full fleet management

Tracking + driver behavior + maintenance + fuel monitoring

Asset tracking

Battery-powered devices for trailers, containers, equipment

Hardwired GPS device

Professional installation recommended; permanent mount

OBD-II plug-in device

Self-install; plug-and-play for light-duty vehicles

Asset tracker hardware

Long-life battery; weatherproof for outdoor assets

Installation

Professional installation for hardwired devices

What to confirm in a Rastrac quote

Convert the dollar-a-day claim

Less than $1 a day is under about $30 per vehicle per month, which is a ceiling rather than a price and sits above every published base rate here except the top of Azuga's ladder. Use it as your opening comparison.

Get the device price in writing

All equipment must be purchased on month-to-month terms and the price is not stated anywhere. Ask for the device cost per unit and per type before discussing the subscription rate.

Price installation separately

Installation is available for a separate fee with no published figure. Published comparators run from no charge at Geotab to $106.80 and roughly $278 per vehicle elsewhere, so ask where Rastrac sits.

Pilot before a fleet order

Devices are returnable only in new or unused condition, with a 25% restocking fee on the original cost. Once fitted, a unit cannot be returned, so test two or three vehicle types first.

Plan a two-month exit

Cancellation needs 30 days' written notice and takes effect on the final day of the month following that period, with all fees through the notice period payable. Time notice to a month boundary.

Take month-to-month by default

One, two and three-year terms are available by election rather than imposed. That is better than most of this category, so only accept a term if it buys a stated and material discount.

Where Rastrac fits

Read the full review for deployment fit and our verdict, or weigh the alternatives before you commit.

Use our fleet calculators to model total cost of ownership, or check the glossary for pricing and contract terms you may encounter during vendor negotiations. Our free templates can help you track spend once a tool is in place.

Frequently asked questions

Quick answers to the questions buyers usually ask once the category, software, or rollout details start getting more specific.

How much does Rastrac cost?

Rastrac publishes no rate. rastrac.com/pricing returns a 404, and everything else routes to Request a Demo or Contact Us. Checked 30 September 2026. The only figure on the site is a comparison claim rather than a price: RastracFusion delivers tracking, diagnostics and maintenance alerts "for less than $1 a day".

What does less than a dollar a day work out to?

Under about $30 per vehicle per month. That is a ceiling rather than a price, and it sits above the published floor of this market: One Step GPS lists $13.95 per vehicle per month and Quartix lists $14.00, both verified 30 September 2026.

What drives a Rastrac quote?

Fleet size, hardware type, reporting or update frequency, and any asset-tracking or add-on features. Rastrac builds a quote around those rather than publishing fixed tiers, so ask for each driver to be priced as its own line.

Does Rastrac require a contract?

Not for month-to-month, and longer terms are optional. The customer may elect a one, two or three-year term instead. Month-to-month cancellation needs a minimum 30 days' advance written notice, and all cancellations take effect on the final day of the month following the 30-day notice period.

When does a Rastrac cancellation end billing?

Later than you might expect. Its terms state cancellations become effective on the final day of the month following the 30-day notice period, and that the customer is responsible for all fees billed prior to cancellation including the notice period. Notice on the 20th can mean paying into a second month.

Do you have to buy the Rastrac hardware?

On month-to-month, yes. Its terms state all Rastrac equipment must be purchased when using month-to-month terms of service, the price is not stated on that page, and installation is available for a separate fee. Ask for the device price and the installation fee as two separate lines.

Can you return a Rastrac device?

Only new and unused, and with a fee. A device may be returned so long as it is returned in new or unused condition, and a restocking fee of 25% of the original cost applies. Once a unit is fitted to a vehicle it is yours, which makes over-ordering expensive.

How much does it cost to install a tracking system?

Published figures give you a range to test a quote against. Verizon Connect's GSA card charges $106.80 per vehicle for professional installation, Zonar's school district contract bills roughly $278 per vehicle, while Geotab states there is no installation fee at all. Ask Rastrac which model applies.

Is it legal to put a tracker on a vehicle?

On a company-owned vehicle, telematics is standard practice and the obligation is a written policy covering what is collected, who sees it and how long it is kept. Rules differ by jurisdiction and for personal vehicles, so take local advice rather than relying on a vendor's sales material.

All fleet software categoriesAll fleet software profiles