Spireon alternatives compared

Quartix is the strongest Spireon alternative for most fleets, because it publishes $14.00 per vehicle per month with installation included while Spireon publishes no price for any product line and defaults to a three-year term. Buyers searching for Spireon alternatives are usually reacting to that combination rather than to the tracking itself.

Spireon publishes no dollar figure for FleetLocate, GoldStar or LoJack, and there is no pricing page in its site navigation for any of them, checked 30 September 2026. Its published tracking solutions agreement gives a three-year standard term, with a 30-day Try-Buy programme as the only short route in.

Quartix, Linxup and Samsara are the three products buyers put next to it.

Written by Rajat GuptaRajat GuptaEditor

Rajat Gupta runs FleetOpsClub and writes its software reviews, comparisons and pricing pages. Every tool on the site is assessed against the vendor's own published documentation and pricing, and each pricing figure carries the date it was last verified so readers can judge how current it is. Where a vendor does not publish a price, the page says so rather than estimating one.

Last reviewed Sep 6, 2026

Why buyers look for Spireon alternatives

The first reason is the three-year standard term. Spireon's published tracking solutions agreement gives three years as the default, or 30 days under its Try-Buy programme, checked 30 September 2026. A three-year commitment to a vendor that publishes no rate means you are agreeing to a price you cannot benchmark for a period you cannot easily exit.

Best Spireon alternative

Quartix is the best Spireon alternative for most fleets, publishing $14.00 per vehicle per month with installation included on a 12-month minimum against Spireon's three-year default and no published rate. Linxup offers a stated no-contract option at $25 a month. Samsara suits fleets needing cameras and compliance too.

Quartix logo

Quartix

Best for

Fleets that want core tracking on a published rate with the shortest available commitment.

Linxup logo

Linxup

Best for

Fleets that will not accept a multi-year term and want the cancellation mechanics stated before signing.

Samsara logo

Samsara

Best for

Fleets that need cameras, compliance or maintenance alongside tracking and want one platform rather than a group of brands.

Editorial transparency

How we evaluated these alternatives

This page is designed to help buyers compare Spireon against real alternatives before demos, pricing calls, or rollout assumptions push the decision too far in one direction.

  • We focus on the practical reasons teams move away from Spireon, including pricing fit, deployment effort, and platform scope.
  • We compare each alternative by what gets easier, what it costs to run, and where Spireon may still be the better fit.
  • The goal is to make the tradeoffs easier to see before the buying process narrows around a single vendor story.

Read our review methodologyOpen Spireon profile

Why fleets leave Spireon

The second is the hardware clause. Devices are loaned, and you owe the current fair market value of each product not returned within 30 days of expiration or cancellation.

Fair market value is not a published number, so the end-of-term exposure is unquantified at the point of signing, which is the wrong order to do it in.

The third is that the service agreement is incomplete. A tracking solutions agreement is published and covers the term and the hardware, but Spireon's Terms of Use covers website usage rather than the service, so cancellation mechanics and early-termination fees are not publicly stated.

Compare that with Linxup, which states that cancellation takes 31 days and carries an early-termination fee before the end of a committed term.

The fourth is organisational. Spireon now sits inside Solera Fleet Solutions alongside Omnitracs and SmartDrive, so the roadmap and support model belong to a larger group.

That can be good for a buyer wanting tracking, video and recovery under one supplier, and it is worth asking directly how the three lines are being integrated.

Before taking a quote, price the alternatives you could buy today. Quartix publishes $14.00 and $15.00 per vehicle per month with installation included, One Step GPS publishes $13.95, and Linxup publishes $25, all verified 30 September 2026.

Put those three on a fleet budget tracker over three years and you have the number any Spireon quote has to beat.

How to compare Spireon alternatives

Benchmark the quote against published rates, because that is the only pressure available against a vendor with no rate card. Quartix at $14.00 with installation included, One Step GPS at $13.95 month to month, RAM Tracking at $14.99 on its Lite plan, and Linxup at $25 give you a four-point reference, all verified 30 September 2026.

Use the Try-Buy programme rather than skipping it. Thirty days is the only short-term commitment Spireon publishes, and it lets you test coverage and reporting on your own vehicles before the three-year term starts.

Get the Try-Buy terms in writing, including whether the hardware return clause applies during the trial period.

Ask for the hardware replacement figure per device type up front. Loaned hardware billed at current fair market value is an open-ended exposure, and competitors state fixed numbers: One Step GPS charges $95 per GPS tracker and $190 per dash camera beyond 30 days, and Azuga states $70 to $499 depending on device type.

A fixed number can be budgeted; fair market value cannot.

Get the cancellation mechanics into the order form, since they are not published. Ask for the notice period, the method of giving notice, any early-termination fee, and whether the term renews automatically.

Every one of those is standard in competitors' published agreements and absent from Spireon's.

Finally, decide which Spireon line you are comparing. FleetLocate competes with the products below; GoldStar and LoJack serve dealers, lenders and recovery rather than fleet operations.

Comparing a fleet tracking quote against a dealer GPS product is the most common confusion with this vendor and produces a shortlist that cannot be decided.

Pricing fit

Compare total cost, not the entry rate

Check how per-vehicle pricing, contract length, hardware, and add-ons change the total cost as the fleet grows.

Deployment fit

Match the rollout to your team's capacity

Look at hardware requirements, setup effort, implementation support, and how much operational lift the platform needs after go-live.

Platform fit

Check the platform covers the work you need

Compare whether cameras, ELD, maintenance, analytics, or integrations are built in or left to extra tools and add-ons.

Best Spireon alternatives

These three publish more than Spireon does, in different ways: a published rate with a 12-month minimum, a published rate with a no-contract option, and a platform that publishes terms if not prices. Every pick follows the standards in how we review software and the selection criteria in how rankings work.

Alternatives to Spireon, compared
AlternativePricing modelDeploymentFree trial
QuartixPublished directly at $14-$15 per vehicle per month, no quote requiredGPS hardware with fleet tracking, route planning, and driver/inspection toolsNo
LinxupQuote-only on the pricing page; hardware and one service rate published on a separate storePlug-in, wired, or JBUS GPS hardware, plus optional dashcams, asset trackers, and Apollo-branded ELDNo
SamsaraPer vehicleCloudYes
Quartix logo

Quartix

Best published rate and shortest minimum

Quick take

Quartix publishes $14.00 and $15.00 per vehicle per month with installation included, on a minimum period the customer selects from 12 months rather than a three-year default.

Who this fits

Fleets that want core tracking on a published rate with the shortest available commitment.

Pricing

Info Point $14.00 per vehicle per month, Info Plus $15.00 per vehicle per month, both published with no installation fees and no setup costs. An Enterprise tier is custom priced. Verified 30 September 2026.

Contract

A minimum period set in the contract, advertised as from 12 months and selectable up to 36, then rolling monthly on one month's notice. You cannot cancel during the minimum period, so choose 12 unless the discount is substantial. A short one-vehicle trial can be arranged after a demo.

Hardware

Rented rather than sold, with installation included and no upfront cost stated. Units must be returned at your expense and payments continue until they are returned in good working order, which is at least a defined obligation rather than fair market value.

Best fit

Best published rate and shortest minimum

Why teams switch

Both of Spireon's main obstacles disappear. Info Point is $14.00 per vehicle per month and Info Plus $15.00, both published with no installation fees and no setup costs, and the minimum period is selectable from 12 months rather than defaulting to three years. Verified 30 September 2026.

What you gain with Quartix

Quartix wins on publishing a rate at all, on a 12-month rather than three-year minimum, and on including installation in the price instead of quoting it.

What Quartix covers

Quartix sells vehicle tracking on two published tiers, Info Point and Info Plus, covering live location, trip history, driver behaviour and reporting, with installation included. An Enterprise tier is quote-led.

Where Spireon still has an edge

Spireon covers dealer GPS and stolen-vehicle recovery alongside fleet tracking, which Quartix does not touch. A business that needs FleetLocate and GoldStar together has a reason to stay that price alone will not overturn.

Linxup logo

Linxup

Best for stated cancellation terms

Quick take

Linxup publishes $25 per vehicle per month and offers a stated no-contract option, with cancellation mechanics and early-termination terms spelled out rather than left to a quote.

Who this fits

Fleets that will not accept a multi-year term and want the cancellation mechanics stated before signing.

Pricing

GPS tracking $25 per vehicle per month and ELD $30 per vehicle per month, with hardware priced separately: a plug-in, wire-in or JBUS tracker at $94.99 including the first month of service, asset trackers from $94.99 to $214.99, and the LinxCam AI dash cam at $439.99. Hardware figures differ between the store and the pricing page, so confirm in writing. Verified 30 September 2026.

Contract

Customer's choice of no contract, two years or three years. Cancellation requires a dedicated form and takes 31 days to take effect, with an immediate early-termination fee for leaving before the end of a committed term. No trial is advertised.

Hardware

Purchased rather than loaned, so the devices are yours and there is no return obligation at the end of a term.

Best fit

Best for stated cancellation terms

Why teams switch

It publishes the things Spireon does not. Customers choose no contract, two years or three years; cancellation requires a dedicated form and takes 31 days to take effect; and an early-termination fee applies before the end of a committed term. Knowing all three before signing is the difference between a decision and a leap.

What you gain with Linxup

Linxup wins on a genuine month-to-month option, on published cancellation mechanics, and on publishing asset and solar tracker hardware prices rather than quoting them.

What Linxup covers

Linxup sells vehicle and asset tracking, ELD and dash cams, publishing service rates for tracking and ELD and list prices for asset, solar and camera hardware. Contract length is a customer choice.

Where Spireon still has an edge

Linxup's $25 per vehicle per month is high for core tracking, and Spireon may quote below it for a larger fleet. Spireon also covers recovery and dealer GPS lines that Linxup has no equivalent for.

Samsara logo

Samsara

Best for tracking plus cameras and compliance

Quick take

Samsara covers tracking, AI cameras, hours-of-service logging and maintenance in one platform and publishes a subscription agreement with a 30-day notice period, though it publishes no rate.

Who this fits

Fleets that need cameras, compliance or maintenance alongside tracking and want one platform rather than a group of brands.

Pricing

No published price. Samsara's pricing page asks how many vehicles or assets you run, offers five fleet-size bands from 1 to 5 up to 5,000 or more, and routes you to sales, verified 22 September 2026. Every per-vehicle figure in circulation is a third-party estimate.

Contract

Auto-renews, with written notice at least 30 days before the licence expiration date. The minimum term is not stated as a universal figure and is set by the applicable order form. Checked 22 September 2026.

Best fit

Best for tracking plus cameras and compliance

Why teams switch

If the attraction of Spireon is having tracking, video and recovery under one group, Samsara makes a similar argument inside one product rather than across three brands. It also publishes a subscription agreement with a stated 30-day notice period, against Spireon's three-year default and thin cancellation terms.

What you gain with Samsara

Samsara wins on scope in a single product, on a published subscription agreement with a 30-day notice window, and on native video rather than a separate camera line.

What Samsara covers

Samsara covers GPS tracking, AI dash cams, hours-of-service logging, maintenance and site visibility in one platform, reaching trailers, equipment and fixed assets as well as powered vehicles.

Where Spireon still has an edge

Spireon's stolen-vehicle recovery and dealer finance GPS lines have no Samsara equivalent, and for a small fleet that only needs location, Samsara is a platform premium with no published rate.

Of the Spireon alternatives here, start with Quartix if a published $14.00 rate and a 12-month minimum are what you want instead of a three-year default. Take Linxup if a month-to-month term and stated cancellation mechanics matter more than the monthly rate.

Move to Samsara if cameras and compliance belong in the same contract. If you stay with Spireon, use the 30-day Try-Buy programme before the three-year term starts, get the hardware replacement cost per device type in writing rather than accepting fair market value, and check the Spireon pricing page for the full record of what is and is not disclosed.

Before the shortlist is final, the fleet management categories show where each alternative sits in the market, and the fleet calculators put a cost against each one before you request a quote.

Frequently asked questions

Quick answers to the questions buyers usually ask once the category, software, or rollout details start getting more specific.

How much does Spireon GPS tracking cost?

Spireon publishes no price for any of its three product lines. There is no pricing page in the site navigation for FleetLocate, GoldStar or LoJack, and the FleetLocate product page contains no dollar figures at all. Checked 30 September 2026. Circulating ranges of roughly $15 to $50 per vehicle per month are third-party estimates.

Is Spireon a tracking device or a platform?

Both, across three separate lines. FleetLocate is fleet management, GoldStar is dealer and finance GPS for vehicles under finance, and LoJack is stolen vehicle recovery. They serve different buyers, which is why a fleet comparison and a dealer comparison give different answers.

What is a Spireon device in my car?

Most likely a GoldStar unit fitted by the dealer or lender rather than by the manufacturer, because GoldStar is sold to dealers and finance companies for vehicles under finance. If you bought the vehicle outright, ask the selling dealer who installed it and whether the subscription is still active.

How long is a Spireon contract?

Three years as standard, or 30 days under its Try-Buy programme, per the published tracking solutions agreement checked 30 September 2026. The Try-Buy window is the useful part: it is the only short-term route into a vendor whose default commitment is three years.

What happens to Spireon hardware when I leave?

Devices are loaned, and you owe the current fair market value of each product not returned within 30 days of expiration or cancellation. Fair market value is not a fixed figure, so ask for the replacement cost per device type in writing before signing rather than at the end of the term.

Does Spireon publish a service agreement?

Only partly. A tracking solutions agreement is published and gives the three-year term and the hardware clause, but Spireon's own Terms of Use covers website usage rather than service, so cancellation mechanics are thin. Get the notice period and early-termination terms written into your order.

What is the cheapest Spireon alternative?

One Step GPS at $13.95 per vehicle per month month to month, or Quartix at $14.00 with installation included on a 12-month minimum. Both were verified on vendor pricing pages on 30 September 2026, against Spireon's three-year default and no published rate.

Is it legal to track a vehicle my company owns?

Generally yes in the United States, with the practical requirement being a written vehicle-use policy that drivers acknowledge. Rules differ by state and by whether personal use is allowed. A company vehicle use policy is the document that settles it internally.

Does LoJack use Spireon?

LoJack is one of Spireon's three product lines, alongside FleetLocate and GoldStar, and all three are quote-only. If you are comparing stolen-vehicle recovery rather than fleet tracking, that is a different purchase from anything in the GPS fleet tracking category.

All fleet software categoriesAll fleet software profiles

Sources reviewed for this page

These are the main source paths buyers usually use when they move from initial product interest into pricing, tradeoff review, and direct comparison.