Optima ELD alternatives compared

One Step GPS is the strongest Optima ELD alternative for most small carriers, because it publishes $20.95 per vehicle per month for tracking plus hours-of-service logging month to month, where Optima publishes nothing and its own pages disagree about whether there is a contract. Buyers searching for Optima ELD alternatives usually want a figure and a term they can trust.

Optima's pricing page is a two-step quote form across six product lines, ELD compliance, GPS tracking, dashcam, dispatch, tablets and IFTA reporting, and no dollar figure appears at any step for any of them, checked 30 September 2026. Its homepage advertises contract-free while section 9.1 of its Terms of Service describes a 12-month default term.

One Step GPS, Garmin eLog and TruckX are the three products buyers put next to it.

Written by Rajat GuptaRajat GuptaEditor

Rajat Gupta runs FleetOpsClub and writes its software reviews, comparisons and pricing pages. Every tool on the site is assessed against the vendor's own published documentation and pricing, and each pricing figure carries the date it was last verified so readers can judge how current it is. Where a vendor does not publish a price, the page says so rather than estimating one.

Last reviewed Sep 4, 2026

Why buyers look for Optima ELD alternatives

The first reason is the contradiction between the marketing and the contract. Optima's homepage advertises contract-free, and section 9.1 of its Terms of Service describes a 12-month default term. A carrier that signed up believing it could leave monthly has a problem that only appears at the point it tries to.

Best Optima ELD alternative

One Step GPS is the best Optima ELD alternative for small carriers, publishing $20.95 per vehicle per month for tracking plus hours-of-service logging, month to month with a 100-day money-back guarantee. Garmin eLog is $249.99 once with no subscription but no back office. TruckX publishes accessory rates but not its subscription.

One Step GPS logo

One Step GPS

Best for

Small carriers that want compliance and tracking at a published rate with a genuine month-to-month term.

Garmin eLog logo

Garmin eLog

Best for

Owner-operators running one truck who need to satisfy the mandate and have no office-side log review requirement.

TruckX logo

TruckX

Best for

Small trucking operations that want compliance plus cameras or sensors and will extract the subscription rate in writing first.

Editorial transparency

How we evaluated these alternatives

This page is designed to help buyers compare Optima ELD against real alternatives before demos, pricing calls, or rollout assumptions push the decision too far in one direction.

  • We focus on the practical reasons teams move away from Optima ELD, including pricing fit, deployment effort, and platform scope.
  • We compare each alternative by what gets easier, what it costs to run, and where Optima ELD may still be the better fit.
  • The goal is to make the tradeoffs easier to see before the buying process narrows around a single vendor story.

Read our review methodologyOpen Optima ELD profile

Why carriers leave Optima ELD

The second is that no price appears anywhere. The pricing page is a two-step form: pick one of six products, pick a fleet-size band, accept the terms and hand over contact details.

No figure is shown at any step, for any product line, which means a carrier cannot even establish an order of magnitude before entering a sales process.

The third is the breadth of the quote-gating. ELD compliance, GPS tracking, dashcam, dispatch, tablets and IFTA reporting are all quote-only.

A carrier wanting to buy only compliance has no way to know what it is paying for compliance as distinct from the bundle it ends up with.

The fourth is that published alternatives exist at this end of the market, which is unusual in fleet software. One Step GPS publishes $20.95 per vehicle per month for tracking plus hours-of-service logging, month to month, and Garmin eLog is $249.99 once with no subscription at all.

Both verified 30 September 2026. Against those, a quote-gated vendor has to justify itself.

Before any call, write down your truck count and whether anyone reviews logs from an office. Those two answers decide this shortlist entirely, and an hours-of-service log plus an ELD malfunction log cover the compliance paperwork either way.

How to compare Optima ELD alternatives

Decide whether you need a hosted back office first, because it splits the market cleanly. Garmin eLog is registered for local transfer only: no portal, no remote log access, logs produced at the roadside from the device.

That is fine for one truck and unworkable once someone has to review hours from an office. One Step GPS, TruckX and Optima all provide a portal.

Then compare published rates and discount everything else. One Step GPS publishes $20.95 per vehicle per month with tracking included, and Garmin eLog is $249.99 once.

Verizon Connect's GSA card itemises ELD at $4.03 on top of $15.95 base tracking, verified 13 September 2026. Those are the firm figures in this category.

Treat competing vendors' unpublished numbers with the same suspicion. TruckX's $30 a month figure sits inside a named customer testimonial rather than a price list, and third-party sources otherwise report $15 and $18.

A figure quoted by one customer is not a rate.

Read the term and the refund policy together, because this is where small ELD vendors differ most. Optima's homepage says contract-free while its terms describe a 12-month default.

TruckX advertises a 30-day money guarantee while its terms describe a discretionary five-day hardware window and non-refundable subscriptions. One Step GPS offers a 100-day money-back guarantee with prepaid return shipping and no minimum term.

Finally, confirm the device is currently on the FMCSA registered list yourself. Registration is vendor self-certification and devices have been removed before, which is the one failure mode that puts trucks out of service.

The ELD compliance category covers which vendors publish anything about their terms.

Pricing fit

Compare total cost, not the entry rate

Check how per-vehicle pricing, contract length, hardware, and add-ons change the total cost as the fleet grows.

Deployment fit

Match the rollout to your team's capacity

Look at hardware requirements, setup effort, implementation support, and how much operational lift the platform needs after go-live.

Platform fit

Check the platform covers the work you need

Compare whether cameras, ELD, maintenance, analytics, or integrations are built in or left to extra tools and add-ons.

Best Optima ELD alternatives

These three answer the same mandate on sharply different terms: a published monthly rate with a portal, a one-off purchase with no portal, and a vendor that publishes accessories but not its subscription. Every pick follows the standards in how we review software and the selection criteria in how rankings work.

Alternatives to Optima ELD, compared
AlternativePricing modelDeploymentFree trial
One Step GPS~$13.95/vehicle/mo (no contract)Not publishedNo
Garmin eLog$249.99 one-time, no subscriptionIn-cab hardware paired to a phone, tablet or compatible dezl navigatorNo
TruckXQuote only, no pricing page publishedBluetooth or wired ELD paired to a phone or tablet, or a bundled in-cab tabletNo
One Step GPS logo

One Step GPS

Best published rate with a portal

Quick take

One Step GPS publishes $20.95 per vehicle per month for tracking plus hours-of-service logging, month to month with no contract and a 100-day money-back guarantee, with a hosted portal.

Who this fits

Small carriers that want compliance and tracking at a published rate with a genuine month-to-month term.

Pricing

GPS tracking $13.95 per vehicle per month; GPS tracking plus ELD $20.95 per vehicle per month. Both month to month with no contract and no device cost. A one-time activation fee of $20 per GPS or ELD device applies, plus first and last month's subscription. Verified 30 September 2026.

Contract

No minimum term; month to month by default unless an order form specifies otherwise. A 100-day no-questions-asked money-back guarantee applies rather than a trial, with return shipping prepaid by the vendor.

Hardware

Loaned rather than sold, with no device cost. $95 per GPS tracker and $190 per dash camera if not returned within 30 days of notifying support of intent to cancel, or if returned damaged.

Best fit

Best published rate with a portal

Why teams switch

It answers both of Optima's problems at once. Tracking plus hours-of-service logging is $20.95 per vehicle per month, published and verified 30 September 2026, and the terms state no minimum term with month-to-month billing by default. Contract-free is the actual position rather than a homepage claim contradicted by section 9.1.

What you gain with One Step GPS

One Step GPS wins on publishing its rate, on genuinely having no minimum term, on a 100-day money-back guarantee with prepaid return shipping, and on bundling tracking with compliance at a known figure.

What One Step GPS covers

One Step GPS sells per-vehicle tracking and an hours-of-service option on published rates, month to month with no contract, with a hosted portal for reviewing logs and trips. Hardware is loaned rather than sold.

Where Optima ELD still has an edge

Optima covers dispatch, tablets and IFTA reporting as product lines, which One Step GPS does not. A carrier that wants all of those from one vendor has a reason to take the quote, provided the term is settled in writing.

Garmin eLog logo

Garmin eLog

Cheapest for a single truck

Quick take

Garmin eLog is $249.99 as a one-time purchase with no subscription and no contract, but FMCSA registers it for local transfer only, so there is no hosted back office.

Who this fits

Owner-operators running one truck who need to satisfy the mandate and have no office-side log review requirement.

Pricing

$249.99 as a one-time purchase, part number 010-01876-00, with no subscription, no activation fee and no setup fee. A 16-pin adapter is sold separately and its price is not published. Verified 30 September 2026.

Contract

None. There is no subscription, no contract and no cancellation process. Check Garmin's current return window before ordering, because its return-policy page was unreachable when this was last checked on 30 September 2026.

Hardware

Purchased outright at $249.99, so the device is yours with no return obligation and no replacement penalty.

Best fit

Cheapest for a single truck

Why teams switch

For an owner-operator the arithmetic settles it. The device is $249.99 once, part number 010-01876-00, and the price has not moved since Garmin's 2017 launch. Against a subscribed ELD at $25 to $35 per vehicle per month it pays for itself somewhere between the eighth and eleventh month, with no term to argue about.

What you gain with Garmin eLog

Garmin eLog wins on total cost for one truck, on having no contract, no notice period and no renewal at all, and on a published price stable for nine years.

What Garmin eLog covers

Garmin eLog is a one-time hardware purchase that satisfies the hours-of-service mandate with no subscription, no activation fee and no contract, because there is no recurring billing relationship at all.

Where Optima ELD still has an edge

Optima provides a hosted back office and six product lines; Garmin eLog is registered for local transfer only, so there is no portal and no remote log access. For any fleet where someone reviews logs from an office, that is disqualifying.

TruckX logo

TruckX

Published accessories, unpublished subscription

Quick take

TruckX publishes detailed dashcam and sensor rates but no ELD subscription figure, and its advertised guarantee conflicts with its own terms, so get the subscription rate in writing.

Who this fits

Small trucking operations that want compliance plus cameras or sensors and will extract the subscription rate in writing first.

Pricing

No published ELD subscription rate. The homepage line starting at only $30 a month per truck sits inside a named customer testimonial rather than a price list, and third-party sources otherwise report $15, $18 and $30. Accessory pricing is genuinely published, including $49 for a 128GB SD card and $150 for a lost or damaged device. Checked 30 September 2026.

Contract

Auto-renews, with cancellation requiring a written email request seven days before the renewal date. The homepage advertises a 30-day money guarantee while the terms describe a discretionary five-day hardware refund window and non-refundable subscriptions, so get the refund terms confirmed in writing.

Hardware

Purchased, with an upfront payment required whose amount is not stated. A lost or damaged device costs $150 plus applicable taxes, and subscription charges continue until a leased device is returned or the lost-device fee is paid.

Best fit

Published accessories, unpublished subscription

Why teams switch

If you need cameras or sensors alongside compliance, TruckX's add-on pricing is more specific than anyone else's: $4 a month for live GPS only, $10 a month for live video with GPS, $5 each for ADAS and driver-monitoring events, $3 for an extra side camera, and sensors at $29 plus $49 a year each. Verified 30 September 2026.

What you gain with TruckX

TruckX wins on publishing specific accessory and sensor rates rather than quoting them, and on aiming squarely at small trucking operations.

What TruckX covers

TruckX sells ELD hardware with dashcam and sensor add-ons aimed at small trucking operations, and publishes detailed accessory pricing while withholding the subscription rate itself.

Where Optima ELD still has an edge

Neither vendor publishes an ELD subscription rate, so TruckX does not solve the problem that brought you here. Its terms also describe non-refundable subscriptions with a seven-day email cancellation window, which is tighter than Optima's 12-month default in a different way.

Of the Optima ELD alternatives here, start with One Step GPS if you want a published $20.95 per vehicle per month with a portal and a term that genuinely is month to month. Take Garmin eLog at $249.99 once if you run a single truck and nobody reviews logs from an office.

Consider TruckX only if cameras or sensors matter and you get the subscription rate in writing. If you stay with Optima, resolve the contradiction between the contract-free homepage and the 12-month default in section 9.1 of its terms before signing, and read the Optima ELD pricing page for the full record of what is not disclosed.

Before the shortlist is final, the fleet management categories show where each alternative sits in the market, and the fleet calculators put a cost against each one before you request a quote.

Frequently asked questions

Quick answers to the questions buyers usually ask once the category, software, or rollout details start getting more specific.

How much does Optima ELD cost?

Nothing is published. Its pricing page is a two-step quote form: choose a product from ELD compliance, GPS tracking, dashcam, dispatch, tablets or IFTA reporting, choose a fleet-size band, then accept the terms and submit contact details. No dollar figure appears at any step for any of the six products. Checked 30 September 2026.

Is Optima ELD contract-free?

Its homepage advertises contract-free, while section 9.1 of its Terms of Service describes a 12-month default term instead. Those two statements conflict, and the one that governs is the terms. Get the actual commitment stated on your order before signing anything.

What is the cheapest ELD provider?

On published rates, Garmin eLog at $249.99 one-off with no subscription, or One Step GPS at $20.95 per vehicle per month for tracking plus hours-of-service logging. Garmin's trade-off is that it is registered for local transfer only, so there is no hosted back office.

What is the easiest ELD to use?

For a single truck, a device with no portal and no account to manage is the simplest thing that satisfies the mandate, which is Garmin eLog's whole proposition. For a fleet, ease means the office side: finding unassigned driving time and form and manner errors before an audit does.

What is the best ELD on the market?

It depends on truck count. One truck favours a one-off device. Two to twenty favours a cheap published subscription with a portal, such as One Step GPS. Above that, compliance depth and cameras usually point to Motive, which publishes no rate but states a 12-month renewal on 30 days' notice.

Can you buy an ELD at a truck stop?

Some devices are sold through retail and some only through a vendor account, and the device is the easy part either way. What matters is whether the model is currently on the FMCSA registered list and whether the subscription behind it includes the back office you need.

What is the new ELD mandate requirement?

The rule requires most drivers subject to hours-of-service limits to use a registered electronic logging device rather than paper logs, with a short-haul exception based on a 150 air-mile radius and shift length. Confirm your own operation against the current federal rule rather than a vendor's summary.

What should I ask for in an Optima ELD quote?

The monthly rate per truck, which of the six product lines it covers, the initial term, the renewal mechanism, the notice period and the hardware cost. Because the quote form shows no figures at any step, every one of those has to be extracted in writing.

All fleet software categoriesAll fleet software profiles

Sources reviewed for this page

These are the main source paths buyers usually use when they move from initial product interest into pricing, tradeoff review, and direct comparison.